Previously, once an email was sent it was set in stone, but now, ‘mistake’ emails could be a thing of the past.
Users of Google’s email service Gmail will now have up to 30 seconds to cancel an email once it has been sent.
The feature has to be enabled in settings, where you can also select how long the ‘undo’ option is available for. Once enabled, a thin yellow line will appear at the top of your screen with the option to ‘undo’ whenever you send out an email. Clicking ‘undo’ makes the original email reappear.
Gmail said in a statement: “Previously a popular feature in Gmail Labs, and recently added to Inbox by Gmail, today we’re adding ‘Undo Send’ as a formal setting in Gmail on the web.
“’Undo Send’ allows people using Gmail to cancel a sent mail if they have second thoughts immediately after sending. The feature is turned off by default for those not currently using the Labs version, and can be enabled from the General tab in Gmail settings.”